The Commonwealth Medical College - unique in many ways

Meet our Interim President & Dean

Lois Margaret Nora, MD, JD, MBA, joined TCMC in May 2011 as Interim President and Dean and brings outstanding leadership and academic credentials to TCMC. As Interim President and Dean, Dr. Nora serves as Chief Executive Officer and Chief Academic Officer of the College.  She is responsible for institutional direction and overall leadership of the College until a permanent president and dean is named.  

Dr. Nora is President Emeritus and Dean of Medicine Emeritus and also held the rank of professor in both Internal Medicine (Neurology) and Behavioral and Community Health sciences at Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED), formerly known as Northeastern Ohio Universities Colleges of Medicine and Pharmacy (NEOUCOM). 

Prior to serving as President and Dean of NEOMED, she served as Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Administration and Professor of Neurology at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine. She also served as Assistant Dean and Assistant Professor of Neurology at Rush Medical School in Chicago.

A board certified Neurologist, Dr. Nora is fellowship trained in electromyography and neuromuscular disease and holds certificates in Clinical Medical Ethics and Medical Management. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Neurology and American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine and served as the latter organization’s president.

Her scholarly work is focused on issues in medical education and issues where law and medicine intersect. She has presented at both national and international conferences and has been published in many peer review publications.

Dr. Nora received a medical degree from Rush Medical College, a law degree from University of Chicago and an MBA from University of Kentucky Gatton College of Business and Economics.

She is the recipient of multiple honors including Kellogg National Leadership Program, Group 10; American Council on Education Fellowship; American Association of University Women Research Scholar-in-Residence award; American Medical Women’s Association President’s Recognition award; and an honorary doctorate from Youngstown State University.

Dr. Nora replaces Robert D’Alessandri, MD, who served as founding president and dean of TCMC.